Angus Addlesee
1 min readApr 17, 2019

--

Hi Nemanja, firstly - thanks for reading and commenting!

I tested this so 99% sure that sentence is accurate. I also know from experience that the result set from Blazegraph isn’t guaranteed to be the same, but in this case it was over many iterations.

There could be multiple reasons for this that I can think of off the top of my head but I am not an expert on Blazegraph so can’t confirm what is happening here.

Possibly, like some of the others, the query begins and traverses the graph in the exact same way each time (therefore finding results in the same order). Additionally, as the graph and query are both static and the query is run multiple times in quick succession (never done in production), it is possible that some optimisation causes the same traversal path.

Again, I am not an expert in any one of these triplestores in particular so don’t know Blazegraph’s inner working in detail and am hypothesising.

If I get time in the coming weeks I’ll maybe retest and play around to see what’s happening!

Thanks again,

Angus

--

--

Angus Addlesee

Research Associate at Heriot-Watt University. Studying a PhD in Artificial Intelligence. Contact details at http://addlesee.co.uk/